BVE 5 update

Another popular Train Simulator with the notable highlight of being freeware! Also note the new OpenBVE version with many new features - well worth a look!

Moderators: TomB, Moderators

User avatar
mstsbe
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 9:36 pm
Location: Boom (Antwerp) , Belgium

New feature: key assignments

Post by mstsbe »

Far away from the English uproar in the openBVE community, mackoy has been busy. The next BVE5 alpha, to be released next week, will allow to change the key assignments. OK, this was a main feature from the beginnings of openBVE, but it's a good feature for the next BVE incarnation.

I also hope that with BVE5 the remaining BVE2 authors will come over and develop for the new version. OK, it's a new syntax, but the converters will make things somewhat easier. And if the final BVE5 will be released, BVE2 will not be supported anymore IMHO. It's about the same if you still run Windows Me or 2000 on a Core i7-960.

http://mackoy.exblog.jp/
User avatar
JasonM
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sussex England
Contact:

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by JasonM »

There is an update on Mackoy's Blog, his website has been updated and a new version of BVE5
http://bvets.net/
--
Jason
User avatar
JasonM
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sussex England
Contact:

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by JasonM »

Had a little play with BVE5 today and it is looking good, I found a test route designed for it via Japanese Google and after a bit of tinkering to get it to work via the English language I was very impressed, plenty of AI traffic with proper sounds and also AI traffic on the same line as you, they can even use different tracks at stations, I think there is a lot of potential for BVE5.

For those of you that want to try this short basic route-
http://kantanbay.org/bve/bve5.html
though as I said earlier you have to do a bit of work to get it to work unless your version of windows shows Japanese text correctly.
--
Jason
User avatar
bigvern
Chief Track Welder
Posts: 7610
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Swindon, England
Contact:

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by bigvern »

Jason, are we saying BVE5 is not optimised for use on English language systems? That seems to me like a backward step into the old days of updating config files to get trains running in BVE2. Probably not alot we can do if it is the case as undoubtedly Mackoy still sees his target audience as the Japanese user but a shame as he must be aware by now of the interest outside Japan and the fact OpenBVE exists alongside his programme.
User avatar
JasonM
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sussex England
Contact:

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by JasonM »

Sorry Vern I don't think I explained properly.
BVE5 is geared up for any language as there is a language.txt option, so thats no problem.
The problem was with the 3rd party route I downloaded as the route folder name is in Japanese and it does not display proberly so you have to change the name of the folder and the references to it in the route text file.
--
Jason
User avatar
bigvern
Chief Track Welder
Posts: 7610
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Swindon, England
Contact:

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by bigvern »

Ahh, understood!
User avatar
mstsbe
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 9:36 pm
Location: Boom (Antwerp) , Belgium

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by mstsbe »

New release: BVE 5.1 is there with some tweaks and fixes.
http://translate.google.com/translate?s ... .exblog.jp
http://www.bvets.net
User avatar
bigvern
Chief Track Welder
Posts: 7610
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Swindon, England
Contact:

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by bigvern »

Finally got round to installing this. Demo route is short but shows the sim off well. Do we know if it's backward compatible with BVE4 routes and trains?
User avatar
mstsbe
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 9:36 pm
Location: Boom (Antwerp) , Belgium

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by mstsbe »

bigvern wrote:Do we know if it's backward compatible with BVE4 routes and trains?
It's not binary compatible with BVE4, old routes have to be taken through a route converter supplied by mackoy:
http://bvets.net/download/conv.html
User avatar
JasonM
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sussex England
Contact:

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by JasonM »

Another update to 5.2
Translated from Mackoy Blog-
http://mackoy.exblog.jp/

The main changes from 5.1:
Equipment and constant speed operation, the implementation of the speed brakes in the first place.
· Simulate the change in mass due to passengers.
-Simulated the shaking of the vehicle at the time of passenger boarding.
Simulate the scissors-door.
· The file can be set in the vehicle to the display string for the handle position.
-Axis corresponds to the format cam does not return to its initial position in the Notchiofu.
Change or to stop the car when jumping broadcasting station, the broadcasting station.
--
Jason
User avatar
mstsbe
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 9:36 pm
Location: Boom (Antwerp) , Belgium

BVE 5.3 is out

Post by mstsbe »

Another update after 4 months, we're at version 5.3 now. It mainly consists of bugfixes both in the simulator and in the route converter.
http://mackoy.exblog.jp/18411768/#18411768_1
Google translation from mackoy blog wrote:Bve trainsim 5.3
Last time, because I had a string of bugs, I previously published in Development Notes.

· body Bve trainsim
· Keisei Chiba Line
· Converter

Number of sources of sound, the motor can be set for the simultaneous use of priority setting and the power running and brake light-curve interpolation of other orbital-resolution setting, operation instructions and messages shaking of the head of the train driver-updates main point Bug Fixes Fixed a bug that other time · Train [key]. Enable the (time) is ignored in the gauge can be set individually for each track an unlimited number of 256-

The format of the new features here.

Examples of other orbital curve interpolation
You can specify the interpolation between the radius of curvature. Track.Position[] two.
I wonder if more Japanese route developers will start developing for BVE5 now, as BVE2 can't run on Win 7 and the limits in BVE2 are reached quickly (unless one develops the average Japanese route with just tracks and no scenery)..
User avatar
mstsbe
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 9:36 pm
Location: Boom (Antwerp) , Belgium

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by mstsbe »

Update to the BVE2/4 to BVE5 converter:
http://mackoy.exblog.jp/18592171/
Google translation from mackoy blog wrote: Data Converter 0.10
I have published Converter Ver. 0.10.
The data corresponding to BVE2, the data may not be converted properly.

Automatically generates and Sound.cfg · Panel2.cfg updates main.
Supports transit stop station prevention device.
Fixed preceding train to avoid recession.
Added ability to sort the distance in about syntax.
Fixed a bug that brake is weakened.
There are already some quick conversions of BVE2 to BVE5 routes, but as with other game-platforms these are mostly straight ports without any added features. The only serious BVE5 route in development is here:
http://www.mus-iida.jpn.org/
PeterPeddlesden
Atomic Systems Team
Atomic Systems Team
Posts: 1942
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 5:48 pm

Re: BVE 5 update

Post by PeterPeddlesden »

Unlocked as requested.
Locked

Return to “BVE and OpenBVE”