Loco wheels rotating on the wrong axis

GMax is now capable of making models for both Auran Trainz and Microsoft Train Simulator so you can see your work in both sims very quickly and easily now!
GMax is a sister product to the big 3D Studio Max but also has the distinct advantage of being completely free - and available for download from UKTrainSim.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
ColinT
New to the Forums
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:53 pm

Loco wheels rotating on the wrong axis

Post by ColinT »

Hi Everyone I'm Trying to build a steam loco for ts2018. The problem I am have is that the wheels rotate on the wrong axis all the time. I tried searches in google and not come up with anything. Please could one of you help with this. I am using 3ds max 2015.
Thanks Colin
User avatar
TrabantDeLuxe
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 6:10 pm

Re: Loco wheels rotating on the wrong axis

Post by TrabantDeLuxe »

Hi, and happy new year. I just saw this post.

There's a couple of issues that might be at play here. First of all, try resetting the xForm on the axis. If the problem persists, why not show a screenshot of the way it's set up in max? Make sure to display the pivot :).
ColinT
New to the Forums
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:53 pm

Re: Loco wheels rotating on the wrong axis

Post by ColinT »

Hi Thanks for your reply, I Tried your suggestion but the rotation remained the same .
I've added a picture as an attachment. Thanks again
J39.jpg
ColinT
New to the Forums
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:53 pm

Re: Loco wheels rotating on the wrong axis

Post by ColinT »

OK So I've sorted the pivots out so that the wheels rotate the correct way, but now I'm
having trouble with the connecting rods which rotate correctly in 3ds max but are rotating with the wheels
in the game and not staying level, I have the pivots set to same as the wheels.
Please could someone help me.
Cheers Colin
GT46MAC
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:54 pm

Re: Loco wheels rotating on the wrong axis

Post by GT46MAC »

I had worked on a loco sometime ago.
I had been watching it before I made.
Here - http://www.zecrail.com/tutorials.html
Locked

Return to “3D Studio Max AND Discreet GMax”