Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Trains and Routes only entertain so far, what you need are engaging and entertaining scenarios. Here's where you can learn how to make bigger, better scenarios and really bring your virtual train world alive.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
jpantera
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Somewhere in time

Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by jpantera »

Hi All, I have tried to unpack the Riviera in 50s rolling stock. I have unzipped it and can see the files in windows. However I cant see them when I index my stock using RWtools which means I am unable to make consists for QD scenarios. Any tips or hints as to where I am going wrong?

J
Open Rails Supporter. Try it.
User avatar
DaveDewhurst
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1985
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:21 am
Location: Birkenhead
Contact:

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by DaveDewhurst »

Are the files read only, is that still an issue?

Dave
User avatar
alanch
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4756
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:07 pm
Location: Leeds, England
Contact:

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by alanch »

DaveDewhurst wrote: Thu Feb 18, 2021 6:25 pm Are the files read only, is that still an issue?

Dave
RW Tools can't open read only files, so the bin files as a minimum have to be set to read/write.
Alan

My railway photos are now on Google + - links to the albums are in this thread http://forums.uktrainsim.com/viewtopic. ... 9&t=149558

Lots of steam and early diesels from 1959 to 1963.
User avatar
jpantera
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Somewhere in time

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by jpantera »

DaveDewhurst wrote: Thu Feb 18, 2021 6:25 pm Are the files read only, is that still an issue?

Dave
No look to be as normal read/writable.

J
Open Rails Supporter. Try it.
User avatar
749006
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 8907
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:17 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by 749006 »

Did you unpack the ExeterKingswearAssets.ap correctly?
The folder should be the same as in the ap file - if you went down in to the Rail Vehicles folder before extracting it creates a different folder arrangement

You should have ExeterKingswear > RailVehicles and inside that Couplings, Freight, Passenger, Steam

Peter
http://peter749.piwigo.com/
My Railway Pictures
User avatar
jpantera
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Somewhere in time

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by jpantera »

749006 wrote: Sun Feb 21, 2021 1:57 pm Did you unpack the ExeterKingswearAssets.ap correctly?
The folder should be the same as in the ap file - if you went down in to the Rail Vehicles folder before extracting it creates a different folder arrangement

You should have ExeterKingswear > RailVehicles and inside that Couplings, Freight, Passenger, Steam

Peter
Thanks Peter,

Yes thats how they have extracted. Still cant index them in RWtools. I cant index anything else either I have unpacked have tried the Riviera Diesel pack and that wont index also.

Thanks

J
Open Rails Supporter. Try it.
User avatar
749006
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 8907
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:17 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by 749006 »

You might be best asking Mike on his RW Tools Forum
viewforum.php?f=374

It could be something obvious to him

Peter
http://peter749.piwigo.com/
My Railway Pictures
gptech
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 18444
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by gptech »

jpantera wrote: Thu Feb 18, 2021 1:34 pm I have unzipped it and can see the files in windows.
We can't, so post a screenshot of your ..\Assets\DTG\ExeterKingswear folder.
User avatar
jpantera
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Somewhere in time

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by jpantera »

Screenshot attached, of the Riviera in 50s file
Scrshot.jpg
Open Rails Supporter. Try it.
gptech
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 18444
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by gptech »

OK, that looks in order so lets go back again...
jpantera wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 2:56 pm
DaveDewhurst wrote: Thu Feb 18, 2021 6:25 pm Are the files read only, is that still an issue?

Dave
No look to be as normal read/writable.

J
"look to be" isn't the same as "definitely are" so how are you checking?
User avatar
jpantera
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Somewhere in time

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by jpantera »

gptech wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:06 pm OK, that looks in order so lets go back again...
jpantera wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 2:56 pm
DaveDewhurst wrote: Thu Feb 18, 2021 6:25 pm Are the files read only, is that still an issue?

Dave
No look to be as normal read/writable.

J
"look to be" isn't the same as "definitely are" so how are you checking?
My Apologies here, they are read only I will now go and attempt to index again.

Thanks all for the help so far!
Open Rails Supporter. Try it.
gptech
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 18444
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by gptech »

jpantera wrote: Tue Feb 23, 2021 9:17 am they are read only
How are you checking?
User avatar
jpantera
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Somewhere in time

Re: Unpacking Riviera in 50s AP file not indexing in RWtools

Post by jpantera »

gptech wrote: Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:58 am
jpantera wrote: Tue Feb 23, 2021 9:17 am they are read only
How are you checking?
Right click on properties and they showed as read only. I must have made an error when I checked previously thinking they were not.

I have just indexed them successfully so my issue has gone.
Open Rails Supporter. Try it.
Post Reply

Return to “[TS] Scenario Creation”