new harddrive

Steam is the delivery mechanism for Train Simulator so if you have any issues making it function or questions about how it works before you start then this is the place to get your answers.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
User avatar
antonyperks
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:14 pm
Location: Charfield DGL

new harddrive

Post by antonyperks »

Moved Railworks or wahtever its called now to new harddrive , but when i open steam it says game not installed, how do i point steam to the new directory?
AMD A8-7650K, 64Bit win 10, 240GB SSD-TS2016,Nvidia GTX 960 2GB, 1TB HD,750W Psu, 19" AOC Monitor.
User avatar
emrhd01
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4802
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:48 pm
Location: Nottingham- East Bridgford

Re: new harddrive

Post by emrhd01 »

Rob.
Proud to be a member of the VW/SSS BETA Testing Team.
User avatar
peteskink
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 10:52 pm

Re: new harddrive

Post by peteskink »

I copied my Railworks directory to a different hard drive (SSD actually) and as long as Steam is running it's all quite happy. I use it this way so I have control over what gets updated when. When I have a new purchase or update from Steam to the original I copy it over manually when it suits me and I can backup beforehand if I wish.
User avatar
antonyperks
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:14 pm
Location: Charfield DGL

Re: new harddrive

Post by antonyperks »

Thanks emrdh1, i looked everywhere couldnt find it , all done thanks toyour help and all running properly now.
AMD A8-7650K, 64Bit win 10, 240GB SSD-TS2016,Nvidia GTX 960 2GB, 1TB HD,750W Psu, 19" AOC Monitor.
User avatar
emrhd01
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4802
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:48 pm
Location: Nottingham- East Bridgford

Re: new harddrive

Post by emrhd01 »

Glad to hear you are all sorted now.
Rob.
Proud to be a member of the VW/SSS BETA Testing Team.
Locked

Return to “[TS] Steam Help”