Steam Client Problem

Steam is the delivery mechanism for Train Simulator so if you have any issues making it function or questions about how it works before you start then this is the place to get your answers.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
johnwatto
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:30 am
Location: South Penrith - Australia

Steam Client Problem

Post by johnwatto »

I keep getting a prompt from steam - saying a new updated version of Steam Client dated July 17th is ready, it then asks me to restart steam to update, I do this but it still always highlights me that the same July 17th update is required.

Any ideas how to over come this problem, I have checked on these forums and cannot find a answer.

Regards
John W
gptech
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 18095
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Steam Client Problem

Post by gptech »

Try this...

Start Steam by navigating to wherever you have it installed and right clicking Steam.exe, then choosing "Run as Administrator"

Do you have it in the default location of C:\Program Files (x86) ?
johnwatto
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:30 am
Location: South Penrith - Australia

Re: Steam Client Problem

Post by johnwatto »

Gary

I am already running Steam.exe as a administrator and Steam is on the D: Drive.

Still getting the July 17th prompt from steam client.

Regards
John W
markpullinger
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2997
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 6:24 pm

Re: Steam Client Problem

Post by markpullinger »

Hi, try removing the `run as administrator` option. Depending on the system it can cause problems if you force it on.
gptech
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 18095
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Steam Client Problem

Post by gptech »

John, do you mean you're using "Run as.....", have set Steam.exe (via it's properties) to require Admin rights, or merely that your user account is a member of the Administrators group?
johnwatto
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:30 am
Location: South Penrith - Australia

Re: Steam Client Problem

Post by johnwatto »

gptech wrote:John, do you mean you're using "Run as.....", have set Steam.exe (via it's properties) to require Admin rights, or merely that your user account is a member of the Administrators group?
Gary

If I right click on the Steam deck top icon and go to advance options it shows "Run as Admin", if I right click on the Steam.exe, this takes me to a dialog box and I click on "Security" and I have these options.
The following options have these accesses :-

Authenticated users - modify, read and execute, read and write.
System - Full control
Administration(John-PC\Administrators) - Full control
Users(john-PC\users) - read and execute, read and write.

I do not touch any of these settings.

Regards
John W
Locked

Return to “[TS] Steam Help”