Class 323 WMR reskin

General discussion about Train Simulator, your thoughts, questions, news and views!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
shaun123
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2275
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 7:24 pm

Re: Class 323 WMR reskin

Post by shaun123 »

Thanks gptech, will certainly give that a go! Will let you know how I get on!
User avatar
shaun123
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2275
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 7:24 pm

Re: Class 323 WMR reskin

Post by shaun123 »

Just a note to say gptech,

It worked!

Follow the guide you provided and worked a treat (eventually)

My first time editing .bin files and not going to lie it did take an hour or so but got there in the end!

Thanks!
User avatar
ReefGB
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 5:42 pm

Re: Class 323 WMR reskin

Post by ReefGB »

shaun123 wrote: Wed Jun 08, 2022 11:03 pm Just a note to say gptech,

It worked!

Follow the guide you provided and worked a treat (eventually)

My first time editing .bin files and not going to lie it did take an hour or so but got there in the end!

Thanks!
Wish I had the free time to try it too, just swamped with work right now. :(
User avatar
ReefGB
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 5:42 pm

Re: Class 323 WMR reskin

Post by ReefGB »

gptech wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 4:37 pm Have a look at viewtopic.php?f=361&t=146285&p=1801531& ... d#p1801531--it should get you on the right track.
I don't know why, I'm being incredibly thick here..

I've "refrocked" (as you so eloquently put it) many an engine and wagon over the last few years in TS (I think my original guidance was from a tutorial on Railworks America) but for the life of me I can't get my head around the VP 323 pack skins I don't know why or what it is exactly that's confusing me but I just can't seem to get on with it.

Not sure if you can explain it any better to me or show me an example to help me lift the fog, if you can I'd appreciate it Gary.
gptech
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 19507
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Class 323 WMR reskin

Post by gptech »

How far do you get before it goes "foggy"?
User avatar
ReefGB
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 5:42 pm

Re: Class 323 WMR reskin

Post by ReefGB »

Don't laugh, (ok I'm laughing but still) pretty much as soon as I look at the extracted VP install in my fake railworks folder, there is so much there and even looking at the texture files in RSBin tool I can't seem to see a complete (for example) WMR skin, it's as if it's segmented an brought together by bin files and logo and number placements and that seems a bit more involved (to me) than a simple refrock..
gptech
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 19507
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Class 323 WMR reskin

Post by gptech »

Are you looking in the right place?
I suspect you're viewing the contents of ..\Assets\VP\Class 323\
which you don't need to start with.

Initially, work on the .bin/.Geo files found in ..\Assets\DTG\CrossCity\RailVehicles\Electric\Class323\WMR
User avatar
ReefGB
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 5:42 pm

Re: Class 323 WMR reskin

Post by ReefGB »

gptech wrote: Thu Jun 16, 2022 8:38 pm Are you looking in the right place?
I suspect you're viewing the contents of ..\Assets\VP\Class 323\
which you don't need to start with.

Initially, work on the .bin/.Geo files found in ..\Assets\DTG\CrossCity\RailVehicles\Electric\Class323\WMR
No I was definitely looking at the .bins and .geo's in ..\Assets\DTG\CrossCity\RailVehicles\Electric\Class323\WMR, I dunno, I'm just not seeing how it all comes together, it's probably due to my odd hour here and odd hour there on TS and then 4 days (working) and away from my PC altogether is just not giving me enough time to grasp what i need to do, no worries.
gptech
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 19507
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Class 323 WMR reskin

Post by gptech »

ReefGB wrote: Tue Jun 21, 2022 6:29 pm No I was definitely looking at the .bins and .geo's in ..\Assets\DTG\CrossCity\RailVehicles\Electric\Class323\WMR
Just double check that--this is what a new dummy install of the VP pack gives me:

Image

It only needs the .Geos copying over, but there are no confusing .bin files for branding, numbers or PRM decals. They're called for as child objects in the .bin files for the coaches, so all you need to do there is copy and paste the relevant sections into your new .bin files.

Code: Select all

						<cEntityContainerBlueprint-sChild d:id="115572">
							<ChildName d:type="cDeltaString">details</ChildName>
							<BlueprintID>
								<iBlueprintLibrary-cAbsoluteBlueprintID>
									<BlueprintSetID>
										<iBlueprintLibrary-cBlueprintSetID>
											<Provider d:type="cDeltaString">DTG</Provider>
											<Product d:type="cDeltaString">CrossCity</Product>
										</iBlueprintLibrary-cBlueprintSetID>
									</BlueprintSetID>
									<BlueprintID d:type="cDeltaString">RailVehicles\Electric\Class323\Child_Objects\323_WMR_DMSO.xml</BlueprintID>
								</iBlueprintLibrary-cAbsoluteBlueprintID>
							</BlueprintID>
							<Matrix/>
							<ParentNodeName d:type="cDeltaString">body</ParentNodeName>
						</cEntityContainerBlueprint-sChild>
						<cEntityContainerBlueprint-sChild d:id="115572">
							<ChildName d:type="cDeltaString">Front_Num</ChildName>
							<BlueprintID>
								<iBlueprintLibrary-cAbsoluteBlueprintID>
									<BlueprintSetID>
										<iBlueprintLibrary-cBlueprintSetID>
											<Provider d:type="cDeltaString">DTG</Provider>
											<Product d:type="cDeltaString">CrossCity</Product>
										</iBlueprintLibrary-cBlueprintSetID>
									</BlueprintSetID>
									<BlueprintID d:type="cDeltaString">RailVehicles\Electric\Class323\Child_Objects\323_LM_FNum.xml</BlueprintID>
								</iBlueprintLibrary-cAbsoluteBlueprintID>
							</BlueprintID>
							<Matrix/>
							<ParentNodeName d:type="cDeltaString">body</ParentNodeName>
						</cEntityContainerBlueprint-sChild>
						<cEntityContainerBlueprint-sChild d:id="115572">
							<ChildName d:type="cDeltaString">Side_Num</ChildName>
							<BlueprintID>
								<iBlueprintLibrary-cAbsoluteBlueprintID>
									<BlueprintSetID>
										<iBlueprintLibrary-cBlueprintSetID>
											<Provider d:type="cDeltaString">DTG</Provider>
											<Product d:type="cDeltaString">CrossCity</Product>
										</iBlueprintLibrary-cBlueprintSetID>
									</BlueprintSetID>
									<BlueprintID d:type="cDeltaString">RailVehicles\Electric\Class323\Child_Objects\323_LM_SNum.xml</BlueprintID>
								</iBlueprintLibrary-cAbsoluteBlueprintID>
							</BlueprintID>
							<Matrix/>
							<ParentNodeName d:type="cDeltaString">body</ParentNodeName>
						</cEntityContainerBlueprint-sChild>
						<cEntityContainerBlueprint-sChild d:id="115572">
							<ChildName d:type="cDeltaString">Logo</ChildName>
							<BlueprintID>
								<iBlueprintLibrary-cAbsoluteBlueprintID>
									<BlueprintSetID>
										<iBlueprintLibrary-cBlueprintSetID>
											<Provider d:type="cDeltaString">DTG</Provider>
											<Product d:type="cDeltaString">CrossCity</Product>
										</iBlueprintLibrary-cBlueprintSetID>
									</BlueprintSetID>
									<BlueprintID d:type="cDeltaString">RailVehicles\Electric\Class323\Child_Objects\323_WMR_DMSO_logo.xml</BlueprintID>
								</iBlueprintLibrary-cAbsoluteBlueprintID>
							</BlueprintID>
							<Matrix/>
							<ParentNodeName d:type="cDeltaString">body</ParentNodeName>
						</cEntityContainerBlueprint-sChild>
(From the DMSOA .bin file)
Post Reply

Return to “[TS] General Discussion”