3D Cabview steam engine

Have you given it a go? Post your experiences, particularly things that worked well. Let the team know what works and doesn't work as they cannot test the software with every combination of routes, activities and content available for MSTS. OpenRails is actively being improved and is quickly approaching v1.0. This is a great place to discuss what you can do with OpenRails.

Moderator: Moderators

mrmosky
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by mrmosky »

I have just uploaded the finished model. Once it has been approved, it should be available for download.

Please let me know if there are any issues with installation.

Geoff
4MT_3dcab.jpg
coolhand101
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1200
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:20 pm

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by coolhand101 »

mrmosky wrote:I have just uploaded the finished model. Once it has been approved, it should be available for download.
Please let me know if there are any issues with installation.
As always Geoff. That is a very marvelous 3D cab! :wink:
mrmosky
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by mrmosky »

Thanks Coolhand. It's taken quite a while to get this far.

I hope folks enjoy it.

Geoff
mrmosky
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by mrmosky »

Well 40 downloads on this site so far, and no comments.

That's what I usually find, but in some ways it's OK since it shows that no-one has had problems with installation.

I would be interested to know if the cab has had a detrimental effect on fps for users. On my system, I can get 40-60 fps using the OR new year Monogame version, but I am down to about 30 fps on the other version.

Geoff
User avatar
DarwinS
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1335
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 10:08 am
Location: York

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by DarwinS »

Just a thought, and this may be wrong.

You have used a lot of textures to make the cab view. Would you get better fps if you had used fewer, larger, textures?

There may be other factors with 3D cabs - but keeping the number of texture calls down might help.
Regards

Darwin
mrmosky
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by mrmosky »

Hi Darwin,
You are undoubtedy right that fewer textures would reduce draw calls.

I may be able to combine some textures together, but what works against this is the need for detailed textures for everything in the 3d cab. So some textures are already 1024x1024 for one or a few parts. It's something to work on if it is a problem. I'm trying to assess whether it is a problem or not, but lacking feedback.

I get quite dispirited from time to time. 45 downloads and no comments.

Geoff
User avatar
stephenrwells
Established Forum Member
Posts: 493
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:15 pm
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by stephenrwells »

Hi Geoff,

I shouldn't get too dispirited about the lack of comments - work on the principle that no comments are good comments. This is what I do with my activities as I get very few comments and then normally only when I get something wrong. The exception is Mike ( Mikeanddi ) who usually gives me his opinion of them.

As I don't normally use steam engines these days I haven't downloaded your latest cabview but I have tried your earlier ones and i was very impressed by them.

Regards,

Stephen
mrmosky
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by mrmosky »

Thanks Stephen,

You are right. I should be happy that no-one is complaining. I admit that I am as guilty as everyone else as I don't often give feedback on stuff I download. With the 3d cabs though, I though that there would be more enthusiasm for something that is relatively new and literally a "game changer" in my opinion. I probably get unreasonably enthusiastic for anything I am doing though.

Geoff
tonya37
New to the Forums
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by tonya37 »

Hi Geoff

Sorry you didn't get any feedback - you should have been inundated with compliments. Only squeaking wheels get oil I suppose. I downloaded loco and cabview recently and found it such an improvement over 2d cabs that I also use it for some other locos! (Don't suppose I should, but it is my railway...). It is indeed a gamechanger and I hope that the lack of positive feedback hasn't dampened your enthusiasm.

Anyway I didn't realize the amount of work that went into it, now I do I can only admire your expertise, patience and persistence.

I do hope that you will produce other cabs. Pairing the cab with a loco that is also so well done was stroke of genius.

Tony
mrmosky
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by mrmosky »

Thanks Tony,

It's good that you have enjoyed the 3d cab so much. It is quite suitable for other engines as the LMS design is more or less the same in quite a few examples.

What I like a lot is the way you can move around in the cab - using the cntrl + arrow keys and Page up/Down. Then being able to look around.

There may be another similar one out soon, as I am working on a version for a model that Darwin Smith is doing. The aim for me is to get a set of components that can be re-configured for a number of cabs. The obvious ones being brake valve, injcectors, water glasses and firebox. That wil make it much quicker to create further cabs.

Take care.
User avatar
dforrest
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 6128
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 12:00 am
Location: St. Vincent and the Grenadines (and in an earlier life, Hull)

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by dforrest »

Geoff, what classes would you say it is suitable for use with?

__________________
David
User avatar
DarwinS
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1335
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 10:08 am
Location: York

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by DarwinS »

Sorry I am not Geoff. :-?

I can answer the question though - the cab layout was (fairly) standard for all Stanier locos and continued by Fairburn and Ivatt until the end of the LMS.

So (if you ignore the tanks) pretty much any LMS loco built from 1933 to 1949.
Regards

Darwin
mrmosky
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by mrmosky »

What he said...^^^
User avatar
dforrest
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 6128
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 12:00 am
Location: St. Vincent and the Grenadines (and in an earlier life, Hull)

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by dforrest »

I am totally confused! I assume we are discussing this download:

 Click to view more informationFairburn Tank Engine with 3d cab [34147313 bytes] - CCW_BR_4MT_42073.zip
File ID: 40006 Date: 16 Nov 2020 - 176 Downloads


Am I correct? If so what do I need to install and where to use the 3D cab on other locos?
David
User avatar
DarwinS
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1335
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 10:08 am
Location: York

Re: 3D Cabview steam engine

Post by DarwinS »

You can put 3D cabs in the common.cab folder if you want.

Whatever folder it is in you can link to it from any eng file if you put in the relative address.

So for example in an eng file I might have:

Comment ( ********************* Passenger View (If used) ******************
Included in this section - File, Location, Direction, etc
***************************************************************** )

ORTS3DCab(
ORTS3DCabFile ( "..\\..\\common.cab\\3D_LMSJubilee\\jubilee_cab.s" )
ORTS3DCabHeadPos ( -1.1 3.1 -5.6 )
RotationLimit ( 10 90 90 )
StartDirection (0 10 0 )
)

Comment ( ********************** Micellaneous Information **********
Included in this section - Name, Sounds, etc
********************************************************* )
Regards

Darwin
Post Reply

Return to “[OR] General OpenRails Discussion”