Page 1 of 1

MSTS Great Eastern working in Open Rails

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:45 pm
by deltic100
Hi how do you install MSTS great Eastern to open rails Do I need MSTS on my Computer first because it’s my first time using open rails And I’m only using open rails because I’ve heard it’s better than Microsoft train simulator Greater Eastern run even better so please help me get this working I would love to see this Works

Re: MSTS Great Eastern working in Open Rails

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 3:28 pm
by slipperman12
Hi deltic100,
Great Eastern appears to run OK under Open Rails, BUT you must add tsection.dat (I suggest at least #38) file into the GLOBAL folder.

Create a folder wherever you like (but NOT in C:\Program Files or C:\Program Files (x86)!) and install GE into it.

Note that three update were issued, but I don't think they are available since the old MT site was closed, but I stand to be corrected. The final was to make GE into v1.3.
Greater Eastern may only be added to GE v1.0 or higher. I have an idea that Greater Eastern includes the extensions included in those three patches.

Cheers,
Ged

Re: MSTS Great Eastern working in Open Rails

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:25 pm
by deltic100
Hi Thanks Ged I will be using a portable Hard Drive Because I want to keep my main computer free with plenty of space because I’m already Running TS2018 And TSW I’m Running Windows 10 Latest version So I’m hopeing it will still work so if I creat a Folder Called Great Eastern And install openrails to F:\OpenRails should work then

Re: MSTS Great Eastern working in Open Rails

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:21 pm
by slipperman12
Hi deltic100,
I haven't tried it with Windows 10, but I don't see why it shouldn't work!

I did just as you have suggested - installed GE into a folder called Great Eastern on a drive and ran Open Rails, which is on a different drive, after adding GE to the list of 'profiles'. I believe it's NOT recommended to include routes within the Open Rails folder, so putting it on a different drive, or a different folder on the same drive, should be OK.

Cheers,
Ged