MSTS Great Eastern working in Open Rails

This sim is a brand new, free game engine built on a Windows XNA foundation. It breathes new life into MSTS content as OpenRails is backwards compatible with MSTS routes, activities, and train sets. It's actively in development and approaching v1.0. Please visit the OpenRails web site for minimum HW specifications and software dependencies. The best way to participate is to ask questions as many members of the OpenRails development team participate in the forums.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
deltic100
Established Forum Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 1:50 am
Location: LONG EATON

MSTS Great Eastern working in Open Rails

Post by deltic100 »

Hi how do you install MSTS great Eastern to open rails Do I need MSTS on my Computer first because it’s my first time using open rails And I’m only using open rails because I’ve heard it’s better than Microsoft train simulator Greater Eastern run even better so please help me get this working I would love to see this Works
slipperman12
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 5668
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:50 am
Location: North Nottinghamshire, UK

Re: MSTS Great Eastern working in Open Rails

Post by slipperman12 »

Hi deltic100,
Great Eastern appears to run OK under Open Rails, BUT you must add tsection.dat (I suggest at least #38) file into the GLOBAL folder.

Create a folder wherever you like (but NOT in C:\Program Files or C:\Program Files (x86)!) and install GE into it.

Note that three update were issued, but I don't think they are available since the old MT site was closed, but I stand to be corrected. The final was to make GE into v1.3.
Greater Eastern may only be added to GE v1.0 or higher. I have an idea that Greater Eastern includes the extensions included in those three patches.

Cheers,
Ged
Intel i5-4690K (3.5Ghz), Gigabyte GA-Z97P-D3 m/b, 8GB DDR3 RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750ti (2GB) graphics card, Asus Xonar DS sound card. Win 10 Pro 64-bit.
deltic100
Established Forum Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 1:50 am
Location: LONG EATON

Re: MSTS Great Eastern working in Open Rails

Post by deltic100 »

Hi Thanks Ged I will be using a portable Hard Drive Because I want to keep my main computer free with plenty of space because I’m already Running TS2018 And TSW I’m Running Windows 10 Latest version So I’m hopeing it will still work so if I creat a Folder Called Great Eastern And install openrails to F:\OpenRails should work then
slipperman12
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 5668
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:50 am
Location: North Nottinghamshire, UK

Re: MSTS Great Eastern working in Open Rails

Post by slipperman12 »

Hi deltic100,
I haven't tried it with Windows 10, but I don't see why it shouldn't work!

I did just as you have suggested - installed GE into a folder called Great Eastern on a drive and ran Open Rails, which is on a different drive, after adding GE to the list of 'profiles'. I believe it's NOT recommended to include routes within the Open Rails folder, so putting it on a different drive, or a different folder on the same drive, should be OK.

Cheers,
Ged
Intel i5-4690K (3.5Ghz), Gigabyte GA-Z97P-D3 m/b, 8GB DDR3 RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750ti (2GB) graphics card, Asus Xonar DS sound card. Win 10 Pro 64-bit.
Locked

Return to “[OR] Help for Beginners”