Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

General discussion about RailWorks, your thoughts, questions, news and views!

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
User avatar
shaun123
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2263
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 7:24 pm

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by shaun123 »

Mine's downloading now!

Problem is the fan on my computer is very very noisy and people are trying to sleep! D'oh!
User avatar
TractorBasher
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1015
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Derbyshire, England
Contact:

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by TractorBasher »

After restarting Steam and waiting a while, TS2012 has finally started to download. I'm hitting 450KB/S on the download rate, but it's predicting an hour and a half until completion. I shall leave it to get on with it and go to bed. At least it will be ready to go as soon as I get home from work tomorrow.
Click the image to view my railway photos.
Image
User avatar
Kromaatikse
For Quality & Playability
Posts: 2733
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by Kromaatikse »

I'm currently downloading it on the slowest machine I'm testing with - based on a dual-core Atom. :o

Will be very interesting to see whether it can run it.
The key to knowledge is not to rely on others to teach you it.
User avatar
theokus
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2440
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:25 am
Location: Hasselt (Belgium)
Contact:

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by theokus »

Up and running.
Donwload was fast > 15 minutes most.

- some stutter still there
- strange kinds of shadows
- sometimes the screen is refreshing with a total non relevant kind of screen

Performance is better.
I use the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470 >>> 280.26
Last edited by theokus on Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Ubi bene, ibi patria.
User avatar
paulz6
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2255
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 4:22 pm
Location: Disused Railway Lineside Shack

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by paulz6 »

Why didn't I get that 100Mb/s connection sooner? Might be ready in time for GMTV!
The value of your investments may go up as well as down.
User avatar
sjbaker34
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:14 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, England

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by sjbaker34 »

theokus wrote:Up and running.

- some stutter still there
- strange kinds of shadows
- sometimes the screen is refreshing with a total non relevant kind of screen

Performance is better.
Tell us more if you can please :D
MSTS & RS.COM, NUFF SAID.
User avatar
theokus
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2440
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:25 am
Location: Hasselt (Belgium)
Contact:

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by theokus »

sjbaker34 wrote:
theokus wrote:Up and running.

- some stutter still there
- strange kinds of shadows
- sometimes the screen is refreshing with a total non relevant kind of screen

Performance is better.
Tell us more if you can please :D
Some kind of lag on bridges. Not much and not all the time he.
A lot of a kind of glitter in the foliage.
======================================================================
Have
- i7 960 > 3.2 GHz
- Windows 7 > 64 bit
- 12 giga memory
Last edited by theokus on Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ubi bene, ibi patria.
haddock1000
Virtual Rail Engineer
Posts: 2321
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:26 am
Location: I haven't decided yet...

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by haddock1000 »

Can you take a screenie?

thanks,

haddock1000
Part of the Chaddock Engineering group - trying to make things easy!
djt01
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 790
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:24 am

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by djt01 »

theokus wrote:
Performance is better.

Are you running it with the TSX option box checked? How about the AA settings?

Unless you’re running in the legacy shader mode I don’t see how performance is better.
Intel Core i7-980X, ASUS Rampage III Extreme, Corsair DOMINATOR-GT 6GB DDR3 1600, GeForce GTX 580, X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty, WD VelociRaptor 150GB/600GB, Corsair AX1200,Corsair 800D,Windows 7 Ultimate 64/SP1
crazyfrogbro
Established Forum Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by crazyfrogbro »

10 min download, 20 min .net 4.0 installation...

Ok the game starts but stops at the second loading screen... don't freezes just stops. Now restart... .net 4.0 installation AGAIN. I hate microsoft so much.
Last edited by crazyfrogbro on Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
gypbrc
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1813
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:09 pm

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by gypbrc »

Same here. Taking longer to install the .NET framework than it did to download! :roll:
Trainguy76
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2053
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:28 pm
Location: Dreamland, USA.
Contact:

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by Trainguy76 »

Hm, ready to play in "4 hours 40 minutes"
The Most Astounding Fact

... .-.-.- - .-.-.- .- .-.-.- -.-- .-.-.-
rivimey
Everyone needs a hug!
Posts: 925
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:15 am
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by rivimey »

Mine finished downloading while I was watching "This Week" :-) It grabbed about 3.6GB

Running, it installs updated versions of PhysX and moves from .NET 2 to .NET 4

If my defragger is anything to go by, an awful lot of the older asset and route content has been touched/updated.

The launcher is now updated and has a big TS Graphics button on it to enable the new engine.... disabled in my case. There seem to be new command options available.

The button to test graphics mode has gone... the main Start one does that now. The usable modes/options don't appear different at first glance.

There's a big slider controlling anti-aliasing and a (disabled in my case) control for filtering.

Off for a play... see you soon.
Ruth
Helping to build Cambridge Branch Lines in 1950 @ http://cambslines.ivimey.org
= - Personal : http://www.ivimey.org - = - Web Design : http://www.ivimey.com - =
MarkAaron
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:19 pm

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by MarkAaron »

SO ITS LOADING BETTER CHECK THEN AS ITS NOW COOCOO COOCOO 1 . AM :crazyeyes: :crazyeyes: :crazyeyes:
MarkAaron
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:19 pm

Re: Train Simulator 2012 (Part 2)

Post by MarkAaron »

Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee heeeehoooooo :grab: :grab: :crazyeyes: this way that way :crazyeyes: its loading its loading :crazyeyes: :crazyeyes:
Locked

Return to “[RW] General RW Discussion”