Glass in my windows

Fire up your 3D modelling tool and start building some rolling stock, or find out what others are previewing here. If you have questions about how to make the blueprints work or what names mean what in models, here's the place to find out your answers.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
class43HS125
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:56 am
Location: New Zealand

Glass in my windows

Post by class43HS125 »

Hi,
I have finally got to the point of now having holes in the sides of my EMU where the windows should be instead of just sticking an image over the top :D . Now i need to glaze them :lol:
I would appreciate it if somebody could advise me of the location of some of the threads that have dealt with this subject in the past . I obviously haven't yet mastered the search skills required.

Ross
NZ
http://thefraserline.blogspot.com/
RW RB Challenge 1 Here and There and Back again! uktsfile 22834
RW RB Challenge 2 This Train Goes Round and Round uktsfile 25166
RW RB Challenge 3 The Windsor Branch, a challenge to far
User avatar
RSderek
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4760
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by RSderek »

To contact me email support@railsimulator.com, not here.
So long, and thanks for all the fish.
http://dereksiddle.blogspot.com/
User avatar
theokus
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2440
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:25 am
Location: Hasselt (Belgium)
Contact:

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by theokus »

Thank you Derek!
Ubi bene, ibi patria.
User avatar
class43HS125
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:56 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by class43HS125 »

Hi,

Thanks Derek. I have read that a few times, must be Oldtimes.
Now I just have to relate it to 3DC.
Have to say, RW is certainly FAR more fun than just "whats in the box"

Ross
NZ
http://thefraserline.blogspot.com/
RW RB Challenge 1 Here and There and Back again! uktsfile 22834
RW RB Challenge 2 This Train Goes Round and Round uktsfile 25166
RW RB Challenge 3 The Windsor Branch, a challenge to far
User avatar
Bullet399
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:46 pm

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by Bullet399 »

This was posted on Amabilis forums:

TrainGlass.fx was fixed for railworks and requires a base texture and env map.
3 optional parameters in the railsimX custm field:
r0arg0 = specular exponent
r0arg1 = reflection intensity
r0arg2 = reflection illumination

so you could try this:
fill this in the RailX field: r0arg0=64;r0arg1=0,8;r0arg2=0,4
in the texture slot 1 your normal texture and in the environmap slot use a 64 x 64 pixel dummy

read you...
Michael

_______________________________
User avatar
RedOctoberSUI
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:58 am
Location: where cows and chocolate meet snowy mountains

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by RedOctoberSUI »

... have to brush up my photoshop skills... i cant even make a decent alpha chanel :)

but its nice to see that ross and i seem to have the same problems at the nearly same time.... :o)

seems to be the typical rw learning curve ... hehe... :drinking:

red

btw... thanks to dereks blog "textures for dummies" :) i actualy got a glas window! but it shows up fantastic in the sim, however in 3ds max its solid ??? in the viewport configuration ive got smooth&highlights and the transparency to "best".... any clues?
its quite anoying to have to open up the sim for each window i change :)
RedOctober-SUI-

A bad workman always blames his tools :)
User avatar
spontin
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Trefriw, North Wales
Contact:

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by spontin »

I've used the new TrainGlass.fx shader in my models but prefer the settings below -

RailSimX r0arg0=10;r0arg1=0,1;r0arg2=0,0 for 3DCanvas

A test object with multiple windows and settings should show the difference. I noted night time effects were most noticeable.

NB: the 0,1 and not 0.1 is deliberate as someone noticed a bug in the code which casued the value of 0.1 to be 10x greater than it should be. The 0,1 gives the correct result.

Steve
Author
TS2020 - FR & WHR Route & Rolling Stock
TS2020 - Talyllyn Adventure 2.1
MSTS Talyllyn Railway route
All available from https://sprailways.co.uk
Contact via https://sprailways.co.uk/support
User avatar
class43HS125
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:56 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by class43HS125 »

HI,
Well, after several hours of trial and error over two evenings I have got nowhere. All I see in my window is a solid object.Obviously I am not doing something right. :cry:
Time to start from scratch again........ Capital FX instead of fx but no change. I did change the commas to decimal points after going and looking at the Amibilis forum. Thanks for the pointer on that. changed them back to commas still no progress. and now I find the environmap has gone missing in the 3DC properties. Sorted that one but still no change. Learning new tricks is an up hill climb thats for sure.
basic question.... the window space is a cut out hole in the door. what should I use as the actual window? I have been using a 2 sided face the size of the window.

Ross
NZ
http://thefraserline.blogspot.com/
RW RB Challenge 1 Here and There and Back again! uktsfile 22834
RW RB Challenge 2 This Train Goes Round and Round uktsfile 25166
RW RB Challenge 3 The Windsor Branch, a challenge to far
User avatar
Bullet399
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:46 pm

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by Bullet399 »

wich version of exporter do you use, it should be 1.0.0.107
read you...
Michael

_______________________________
kevmt
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2861
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2001 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by kevmt »

class43HS125 wrote:HI,
Well, after several hours of trial and error over two evenings I have got nowhere. All I see in my window is a solid object.Obviously I am not doing something right. :cry:
Time to start from scratch again........ Capital FX instead of fx but no change. I did change the commas to decimal points after going and looking at the Amibilis forum. Thanks for the pointer on that. changed them back to commas still no progress. and now I find the environmap has gone missing in the 3DC properties. Sorted that one but still no change. Learning new tricks is an up hill climb thats for sure.
basic question.... the window space is a cut out hole in the door. what should I use as the actual window? I have been using a 2 sided face the size of the window.

Ross
NZ
I did have a go at using the new glass shader, last night, in some new coaches that I'm currently building (using canvas). I can confirm that the figures Michael gives, do work ok in canvas (I've yet to try Steve's figures).

The canvas exporter does have a problem with translucency and will only export translucent windows with a limited range of grey shades in the alpha channel. Try using a grey setting of 135 (ie RGV setting of 135,135,135) and see if that works (it does on my setup). If you stray too far from this figure then you either see no glass at all, or non transparent glass, depending whether you use a high or low alpha grey.

Cheers,

Kevin
User avatar
class43HS125
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:56 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by class43HS125 »

Hi,
Bullet399 wrote:wich version of exporter do you use, it should be 1.0.0.107
It would appear that I have version 1.0.0.95 and right now it would seem that an update is impossible.

Ross
NZ
http://thefraserline.blogspot.com/
RW RB Challenge 1 Here and There and Back again! uktsfile 22834
RW RB Challenge 2 This Train Goes Round and Round uktsfile 25166
RW RB Challenge 3 The Windsor Branch, a challenge to far
User avatar
Bullet399
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:46 pm

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by Bullet399 »

PM me an mail adress with 3DC Exporter in Subject and i send it to you
read you...
Michael

_______________________________
User avatar
class43HS125
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:56 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by class43HS125 »

Hi,
kevmt wrote:
I did have a go at using the new glass shader, last night, in some new coaches that I'm currently building (using canvas). I can confirm that the figures Michael gives, do work ok in canvas (I've yet to try Steve's figures).
....
Kevin
Kevin, would you be so kind as to expand on exactly how you "did have a go at using the new glass shader" because all my having a goes are ending up in an exercise in futility. Something is not going as it should. Thanks to some kind assistance I have the latest version of the 3DC Exporter. My texture alpha chanel is 135,135,135 and I am using the figures Michael posted. My latest out come is
Image

The door windows are not exactly see through :lol:

Ross
NZ
http://thefraserline.blogspot.com/
RW RB Challenge 1 Here and There and Back again! uktsfile 22834
RW RB Challenge 2 This Train Goes Round and Round uktsfile 25166
RW RB Challenge 3 The Windsor Branch, a challenge to far
kevmt
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2861
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2001 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by kevmt »

class43HS125 wrote:
Kevin, would you be so kind as to expand on exactly how you "did have a go at using the new glass shader" because all my having a goes are ending up in an exercise in futility.
Hi Ross,



All I did was to load up the glass texture into the primary texture slot, load an env.bmp texture into the Enviroment map slot, enter the shader name into the Rail sim field and enter

r0arg0=64;r0arg1=0,8;r0arg2=0,4

into the Railx field.

Then texture the glass using this setup.

Cheers,

Kevin
User avatar
class43HS125
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:56 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Glass in my windows

Post by class43HS125 »

hi Kevin,

Thanks for that, it looks identical to what I am doing so may be my problem is something a bit more fundamental. What sort of object is the "Glass" that you are texturing?
kevmt wrote: ....Then texture the glass using this setup.
Cheers,
Kevin
As I am sure you can tell, this is foreign territory to me but its fun.

Ross
NZ
http://thefraserline.blogspot.com/
RW RB Challenge 1 Here and There and Back again! uktsfile 22834
RW RB Challenge 2 This Train Goes Round and Round uktsfile 25166
RW RB Challenge 3 The Windsor Branch, a challenge to far
Locked

Return to “[RW] Building Rolling Stock”