Goods Activity 1930

The MSTS Activity Editor allows you to make your own activities, or missions, for the player to complete. This is also how you can get lots of other trains running while you drive yours!

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
User avatar
peterdore
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 987
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, West Sussex, UK

Post by peterdore »

Well After a few attempts at writing activitys i have sent this latest one to a few friends on this forum and have been assured all is well, many thanks to them all for there help and advice. :smile:

This act is a shortish one but it has helped me to understand a lot more about writing acts, so please download this and tell me if any problems occured.

The Wagons you need all came from this website and there is an actual copy from the consist editor as to what each wagon is called ie its exact file name.

As for the purists well yes Lms Jubilee wasnt a freight engine but i had just downloaded it and wanted to give it a try out :razz:
Once you have this activity loaded you can change the loco or wagons to whatever you wish, my thanks goes out to the chap who produced MTS Activity editor ( eto software) this is an invaluable programe.

Good luck with this one
pete
morricom
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Darwen, Lancashire

Post by morricom »

Hi Pete

haveing a few problems with this one when I reverse onto the wagons I cant get the loco to couple, reason loco chain coupling wagons auto, change the wagons for the same number of chain ones but now when I couple the loco can't move them, seems the brakes are stuck on, checked them all and they are all vacumn.

Any suggestions

Ian Morris
User avatar
peterdore
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 987
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, West Sussex, UK

Post by peterdore »

Yes i had that problem ive been told its the bounding box on some of the wagons, if you pull the loco forward a few feet then gently drift back it will coupleup.

:smile:

pete
User avatar
saddletank
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 14183
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: UK East Midlands

Post by saddletank »

I have found that on some rolling stock the bounding box is almost correct but is marginally out. If you buff up to the wagon you don't hear a coupling sound and the train does not show as coupled up in the F9 view but if you draw slowly forward the train couples up.

I actually quite like this effect as you need to drift onto the train very gently (the F4 window ought to show a speed of 1mph with a projected speed of 0mph), and then the careful move forward is like taking up slack couplings.

I'm sure that isn't Kuju's intent but it feels realistic. It's only drawback is there is no difference initially between this and a vehicle that has a really out of kilter bounding box that you can't couple to at all - in this case you draw away leaving the train standing. Not too bad in the privacy of your own home but a bit embarrasing at a show with the paying public watching.
Martin
_______________________________________
ED209: "Please put down your weapon. You have 20 seconds to comply."
User avatar
peterdore
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 987
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, West Sussex, UK

Post by peterdore »

morricom

Just to let you know im extending the activity to Cotehill cement works No3 road. Now instead of just putting your wagons in a siding at Cumwhinton you stop just past the home signal and detach the gwr breakvan, then you pull forward to the station platform, you then reverse into the sidings and pick up some coal wagons draw forward to the platform again and then reverse the whole train back onto the breakvan. :smile:

After that you take the whole train to Cotehill quarry where you uncouple and thats the end of the activity so far.

there will be an extension to this also hopefully all the way to settle.

:grin:

Pete



Click the image to zoom in
User avatar
saddletank
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 14183
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: UK East Midlands

Post by saddletank »

Peter, do you want to try and do a pick up or set down at one of the stations that requires the loco to run round and use it's front coupler. I say this because that will really test your skills/steepen your learning curve and it will start to show up those wagons that have incorrect bounding boxes. I'm on a personal crusade to fix every wagons bbox that I come across so it can be correctly front-coupler shunted. If you find any, give me a shout as I may have already fixed it or be able to fix it for you.
Martin
_______________________________________
ED209: "Please put down your weapon. You have 20 seconds to comply."
User avatar
ianm42
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2749
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact:

Post by ianm42 »

Let me know if any of my wagons have problems and I will update them here,
Ta.
User avatar
peterdore
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 987
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, West Sussex, UK

Post by peterdore »

:smile: right i cant resist a challenge :roll: dont like Carlisle much so what about a nice little station en route to settle ? it must have a run round facility.. hmmm thats got me thinking now :eek:

Ok Saddle your on :razz:

pete


Click the image to zoom in
User avatar
saddletank
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 14183
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: UK East Midlands

Post by saddletank »

The factory N of Appleby?
Martin
_______________________________________
ED209: "Please put down your weapon. You have 20 seconds to comply."
User avatar
saddletank
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 14183
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: UK East Midlands

Post by saddletank »

Hi Peter, it works perfectly. As you can see I swapped the rolling stock for something that I felt was more appropriate. The only thing I noticed was that I did not need to ask permission from the signal box to back the rain into the refuge siding, the route was clear.

Now, to make this more fun, at the arrival station back the train into the up siding, run around and propel the various vehicles to their correct places to unload... simple, eh? :smile:

<IMG SRC="http://album.atomic-systems.com/showPic ... PickUp.jpg">
<IMG SRC="http://album.atomic-systems.com/showPic ... ropOff.jpg">
Martin
_______________________________________
ED209: "Please put down your weapon. You have 20 seconds to comply."
User avatar
saddletank
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 14183
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: UK East Midlands

Post by saddletank »

Peter - if you want to take a look at some shunting activities, downlaod Rich Garbers East Metro Railroad (I have a URL somewhere), and the add-on activity packs (I can fwd you these). In there there are a couple of quite convoluted yard switching duties that don't use any reversing points and all pointwork is manually switched. This means the player is simply told to put wagons XY and Z in roads AB and C and to assemble a train from wagons DE and F and take them down the line. This involves using run rounds, kickback roads etc, and the dispatcher tells you that one of the thru lines in the station is out of bounds as passing traffic is due. How the player does the job is up to him so he can learn from the most efficient ways to shunt a yard - if you continually build in reversing points, etc you will be doing more work than's necessary and the player has less freedom of decisions. Just a few ideas.
Martin
_______________________________________
ED209: "Please put down your weapon. You have 20 seconds to comply."
NeutronIC
Atomic Systems Team
Atomic Systems Team
Posts: 11077
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2001 12:00 am
Location: E11, London, England
Contact:

Post by NeutronIC »

Hi Martin,

Question about these bounding boxes - are the fixed versions on the site or must the downloader of all wagons/coaches apply a fix themselves?

If so, would you mind writing a brief tutorial that we can post describing the process people can use to fix the bounding boxes ? (at least until wagon makers can re-issue their wagons with this fix in place).

Ta!

Matt.
User avatar
peterdore
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 987
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, West Sussex, UK

Post by peterdore »

:smile:

See trouble is my head is full of fancy stuff (and i mean railways shunting not sex) :smile:

Over to you lot at the forum its your choice :lol:

pete



Click the image to zoom in
User avatar
peterdore
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 987
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, West Sussex, UK

Post by peterdore »

Martin...
Peter, do you want to try and do a pick up or set down at one of the stations that requires the loco to run round and use it's front coupler. I say this because that will really test your skills/steepen your learning curve and it will start to show up those wagons that have incorrect bounding boxes. I'm on a personal crusade to fix every wagons bbox that I come across so it can be correctly front-coupler shunted. If you find any, give me a shout as I may have already fixed it or be able to fix it for you. ...

Well ive found some coaches i will email them to you had to put a break van on the end off passenger stock to couple up :eek:

anyhow do you want me to send you that passenger run round act? :grin:

pete
User avatar
saddletank
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 14183
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: UK East Midlands

Post by saddletank »

Matt, Ian Morgan has volunteered to tackle any bbox issues on his own stock and as it happens the coaches Peter is having issues with at present are Ian's Mk1greenBG, SK and BCK. I am unfamiliar with the length of the prototype here but the BG looks to be the culprit. Ian, is it 17.9m oa vs the 20.2m of the other two? If so then you may want to play about with the bbox in the sd file and drop it from the current 9.55m to 8.95m or 8.6m (depending on whether you halve the size value in the wag file or halve the inertia tensor value). Or if it should be the same length as the other two then the 17.9m and 17.2m values in the wag file might better be both 20.2m and the 3rd and 6th values in bbox in the sd file set to 10.0m. It depends on the protpotype length (and what I can't know without hacking into peoples 3d models) - the actual length of the model.

However, Matt, this has already been covered in Francisco Jagos 'Running in Reverse' tutorial which I put on this site some time back - how to ensure a fault-free bbox, etc is all in there but a lot of modellers just dont know about it as it is now quite old and there is a lot of new (and talented) blood building models.

The simple answer is for all modellers to download the "RinR" document and follow that - it's out of date in some aspects but what it says about bounding boxes is still 100% correct.

I can't offer a better guide than that, and of course I can't upload people's 'fixed' wag files - that would be the height of insult to them, so all I can do is work thru items as they come to my attention and mail the authors asking if it's OK if I upload the modified file or better still, they upload after thay are satisfied it's an improvement).
Martin
_______________________________________
ED209: "Please put down your weapon. You have 20 seconds to comply."
Locked

Return to “[MSTS1] Activity Creation”