Guide to posting Screenshots

Screenshots of MSTS and assorted related tools in action!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
johncas
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1613
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 12:00 am
Location: THURNBY LODGE, LEICESTER UK 15 Mins from GCR Leicester Nortn
Contact:

Post by johncas »

And if you dont have a UKTS premium accouht Fotopic http://www.foropic.net dose allow image linking so you can host photos there and link to them here nearly all the others dont alllow it

You can nearly always link to images on your webspace that toy go form you ISP when you signed up to the internet

also if you can do it here post a small thumbnail so people can see it and then click on it to load up a bigger image works well with people on 56k modems so they can just read the post without no big images and then view the big image in another window if they want.
My spec is 9.0ghz 4GB ram High Spec ATI gaming Graphics Card 32" TV as Monitor
THE UK BUS FORUMS http://leicesterbus.proboards10.com
My Youtube videos http://uk.youtube.com/user/johncas1
My fotopic album http://johncasingena6499.fotoblog.co.uk/
User avatar
JohnKendrick
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2340
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 10:24 pm

Post by JohnKendrick »

The Atomic Album says this is how to show a thumbnail in a post:

A thumbnail (smaller image) has been created for your picture, which if you so choose you can display in a web page also, simply include the following HTML fragment to display it;
<IMG SRC="http://album.atomic-systems.com/showPic ... ill3.jpg/1">


As you can see I get the thumbnail OK, but isn't the idea that you click on it to see the full size version?

I can click on that thumbnail as much as I like, but nothing happens!

What hasn't it told me to do to show the full size version please?

John
THE YORKSHIRE COAST RAILWAY, released as freeware (CD & download) on 26th Feb 2005.
User avatar
Cobos
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 10:44 am
Location: Fife, Scotland.

Post by Cobos »

John, to have the thumbnail link to the full size pic use the following line.

open square bracket album xxxxx pic.jpg thumblink closed square bracket.

Substitute the x's for your id number and the words square bracket for the actual brackets.

Kerr
Image
User avatar
JohnKendrick
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2340
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 10:24 pm

Post by JohnKendrick »

Thanks, I'll try that.

Matt, if you read this, I'd include that in the Atomic Album instructions (unless it's blindingly obvious and I can't see for looking!)

John
THE YORKSHIRE COAST RAILWAY, released as freeware (CD & download) on 26th Feb 2005.
User avatar
JohnKendrick
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2340
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 10:24 pm

Post by JohnKendrick »

[ album 58116 rill5.jpg thumblink ]

I'm still not quite there or there'd be a thumbnail showing, not that text!

John
THE YORKSHIRE COAST RAILWAY, released as freeware (CD & download) on 26th Feb 2005.
User avatar
Stooopidperson
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 6947
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2002 2:51 pm
Location: Planet Stooopid (5 Earth seconds=1 Stooopid day)

Post by Stooopidperson »

JohnKendrick wrote:
Click the image to zoom in


I'm still not quite there or there'd be a thumbnail showing, not that text!

John
You should not leave spaces after/before the open bracket.
If you were wondering, the avatar is me on Planet Stooopid...
User avatar
JohnKendrick
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2340
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 10:24 pm

Post by JohnKendrick »

Wow, you've given me a thumbnail that works! Thanks for your help.

I think you've both helped by answering a question a lot of folk didn't like to ask!


Click the image to zoom in


Now I'll be able to think about uploading some route screenshots.

John
THE YORKSHIRE COAST RAILWAY, released as freeware (CD & download) on 26th Feb 2005.
Backfoot2002
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2806
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 9:39 pm
Location: Sheffield

Post by Backfoot2002 »

How do you find out your number? cos it doesnt seem to tell you anywhere.

Anton :)
[album 70528 acm_paintworks_sig.jpg]
| Intel Core i5 2500K (Overclocked to 4.0Ghz) | Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H | 8GB Corsair Vengeance Memory | ATI Radeon HD5770 1GB |120GB OCZ SSD (OS & RW) | 2x1TB 7200rpm HDD (Storage) |
User avatar
JohnKendrick
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2340
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 10:24 pm

Post by JohnKendrick »

When you upload a picture to Atomic Album, the system advises you of the following:
Your image was received, and is shown above. If you wish to display it in another page somewhere, you can include the HTML fragment below to display it directly.
< IMG width="575" height="423" SRC="http://album.atomic-systems.com/showPic ... /Rill2.jpg" >
A thumbnail (smaller image) has been created for your picture, which if you so choose you can display in a web page also, simply include the following HTML fragment to display it;
< IMG SRC="http://album.atomic-systems.com/showPic ... ill2.jpg/1" >
So you base it on that.

If you upload the picture elsewhere you'll need to know the address where you've put it.

John
THE YORKSHIRE COAST RAILWAY, released as freeware (CD & download) on 26th Feb 2005.
User avatar
JohnKendrick
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2340
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 10:24 pm

Post by JohnKendrick »

When you upload a picture to Atomic Album, the system advises you of the following:
Your image was received, and is shown above. If you wish to display it in another page somewhere, you can include the HTML fragment below to display it directly.
< IMG width="575" height="423" SRC="http://album.atomic-systems.com/showPic ... /Rill2.jpg" >
A thumbnail (smaller image) has been created for your picture, which if you so choose you can display in a web page also, simply include the following HTML fragment to display it;
< IMG SRC="http://album.atomic-systems.com/showPic ... ill2.jpg/1" >
So you base it on that.

If you upload the picture elsewhere you'll need to know the address where you've put it.

John

re-submitted as I somehow got into UKTS debug mode
THE YORKSHIRE COAST RAILWAY, released as freeware (CD & download) on 26th Feb 2005.
Backfoot2002
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2806
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 9:39 pm
Location: Sheffield

Post by Backfoot2002 »

Cheers, it works :D
[album 70528 acm_paintworks_sig.jpg]
| Intel Core i5 2500K (Overclocked to 4.0Ghz) | Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H | 8GB Corsair Vengeance Memory | ATI Radeon HD5770 1GB |120GB OCZ SSD (OS & RW) | 2x1TB 7200rpm HDD (Storage) |
User avatar
thassos
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 11:30 am
Location: cumbria UK

Post by thassos »

Please bear with an uneducated picture mover.

I'm with the actions up to
and paste the URL of your picture
but then I'm lost.

What is the URL that I paste and where do I paste it?
The right to speak does not include the right to be taken seriously !

Experience is that marvelous thing that enables you to recognize a mistake when you make it again
User avatar
JohnKendrick
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2340
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 10:24 pm

Post by JohnKendrick »

I don't know what it stands for, but every page on the internet has its own unique one!

Look in your browser near the top of the page and it almost certainly shows the web address of this page. That is its URL.

It looks something like: http://forums.uktrainsim.com/posting for this page.

If you look along the boxes when you make a post on UKTS, the one on the right is URL. If you type the web address of your picture and highlight it, clicking that box makes it into a hyperlink (more jargon, leave out the 'hyper' and all is revealed) and will show the address to click on to see the page. If you click on 'Img' instead it will show it as a picture if it is a suitable image.

John
THE YORKSHIRE COAST RAILWAY, released as freeware (CD & download) on 26th Feb 2005.
User avatar
Stooopidperson
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 6947
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2002 2:51 pm
Location: Planet Stooopid (5 Earth seconds=1 Stooopid day)

Post by Stooopidperson »

JohnKendrick wrote:I don't know what it stands for
Uniform Resource Locators
If you were wondering, the avatar is me on Planet Stooopid...
User avatar
longbow
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 3597
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Noosa, Australia
Contact:

Post by longbow »

How do you take screenshots in Route Editor? The PrintScreen key appears not to work here.
Locked

Return to “[MSTS1] Screenshots”