Page 1 of 1

Cab modifications

Posted: Mon May 11, 2009 10:26 am
by wolly1380
Is it possable to create an object and add it to an exsisting cab. What I would like to do is create a nose for the class 55 that is visable from the cab? if so how would you add it to the cab.

Re: Cab modifications

Posted: Mon May 11, 2009 4:12 pm
by Sly401
Hiya

Make your model and attach it to the cabview model as a child object,.

although you don't have the source to edit its position in the assset viewer, you can quite easily do it by trial and error / guesswork.

a guide can be looking at the bin file in RS tools and noting the positions of other child objects.

chances are that if you made both noses as one object to the right scale, and its centre was at rail level and 0,0,0 in the 3d world all would be good.

Sly

Re: Cab modifications

Posted: Mon May 11, 2009 6:30 pm
by wolly1380
Arr cool well it should't be to hard now you say it can be done with a bit of adjusting and testing I use to do it all the time in fsx with the instriment's in the 3d cockpit's

Re: Cab modifications

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:31 pm
by pikehkr
Can you please expound on this? How does one add a child object to a cabview. Nothing in the cabview geometry file looks like any other geometry file and there is no bin file for cabviews. I am confused.

Thank you

Re: Cab modifications

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:45 am
by davveb
pikehkr

I actually don't think it is possible to add child objects to the cabview. As you've noticed, there is no cab blueprint, all cab information is contained within the engine blueprint. Child objects that are referenced in this blueprint are removed from display when the cabview is selected. I looked into this for trying to add a working computer display to the ES44, without success. However, if you are asking with reference to adding a "light blob" that can be viewed through the cab window one possibility is including your light as part of a coupling geometry. I believe couplers continue to be displayed in the cabview. You will need to engineer your own coupler mesh, and setup an appropriate blueprint, but what to do is explained in the documentation. One advantage of using the coupler is that you can setup your light blob to only be part of the "uncoupled" geometry. That way you won't get any strange effects with switching the headlights on when there is a car coupled in front of you.

Dave B