Prairie Cab

Rail Simulator brings full and high detail 3D cabs to Train Simulation (though by no means the first to do so). Instead of using 2D images you can now create detailed 3D cabs with fully animated controls, here's the place to learn how.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
karma99
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2305
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Prairie Cab

Post by karma99 »

Just so I stop filling up the Screenshots WIP thread, here are my cab shots so far for the prairie cab, work in progress...

Image

Image

Image

Image
Image
Links: Shop <> Blog <> Facebook
User avatar
karma99
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2305
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by karma99 »

And after a weekend with the wife away, I am totally "piped" out! Although I still have 6 more pipes to add before I can call the backhead done :-?

Image
Last edited by karma99 on Mon Mar 02, 2009 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Links: Shop <> Blog <> Facebook
User avatar
RSderek
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4760
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by RSderek »

Great stuff!
I know how you feel about pipes.
Good luck for the rest.

regards
derek
To contact me email support@railsimulator.com, not here.
So long, and thanks for all the fish.
http://dereksiddle.blogspot.com/
User avatar
Blackpatch
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1464
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 12:41 pm
Location: East Midlands

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by Blackpatch »

Not difficult to see where your time has gone - superb level of detail. That must be energy sapping to do so all credit to you.

Derek - hows your 37 cab coming? (Very cheeky enquiry).

BP :D
User avatar
TheTazman
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4886
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 4:55 pm
Location: Wales

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by TheTazman »

Wow thats fantasic!
A computer that's more than adequate to run TS
SeanDMargerison
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:24 pm

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by SeanDMargerison »

looking good mate :D
User avatar
g0fthick
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2438
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Chatham
Contact:

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by g0fthick »

Oh boy I don't envy you, but it's true that RS needs more cabs, especially for tank engines.

The fact that it's GWR just makes it all that bit better.
Image
The knack of flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.
User avatar
karma99
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2305
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by karma99 »

Thanks for the kind words chaps

For some reason the other pic got burped out by my ftp client so here it is re-uploaded...

Image
Image
Links: Shop <> Blog <> Facebook
almark
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4717
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:20 pm
Location: Not on UKTS.
Contact:

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by almark »

Wow that's great,well done!
User avatar
g0fthick
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2438
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Chatham
Contact:

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by g0fthick »

Very speedy progress here, only thing I've noticed is that you've got lots of detail in the components which is great, but the washout plugs are quite distracting as a result, perhaps worth putting a few more polys into?
Image
The knack of flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.
User avatar
karma99
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2305
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by karma99 »

Thanks g0fthick, that's a good call. I've been looking at it so long now those are the things I'm not seeing anymore :)
Will swap those out in my next session.
Image
Links: Shop <> Blog <> Facebook
User avatar
lemberg
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 9:04 pm
Location: sunderland

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by lemberg »

Er! He's missed the jockey valve link on the regulator handle. LoL
Keith
User avatar
karma99
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2305
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by karma99 »

lemberg wrote:Er! He's missed the jockey valve link on the regulator handle. LoL
Keith
He's actually unsure if he's going to be able to animate it due the current blender exporters limited animition capabilites, so it's awaiting some animation testing and a decision on whether it's better static or left out all together if it can't be done.

But thanks for coming in and giving such useful feedback. I suggest you read g0fthick's post on how to critique negative points in a constructive way.
Is it any wonder new model creators are so few and far between with encouragement like yours :roll:
Image
Links: Shop <> Blog <> Facebook
User avatar
exshunter
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Nr Bridgwater, but Bristol born.
Contact:

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by exshunter »

Stunning work!! I really envy all you modellers out there! I can put paint to canvas etc but 3d modelling is way out of my league. Congratulations :D
BobLatimer
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 2765
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Prairie Cab

Post by BobLatimer »

That is one very nice cab. Looking forward to its release.

(Pete, I think you took Keith's comment the wrong way. When I read it I assumed it was very much tongue-in-cheek and was actually a compliment on the amount of detail you had already included. That's the problem with the written word - you can't seee the body language that goes with the thought!)
Locked

Return to “[RS] Cab View Creation”