08 Shunter cab

Rail Simulator brings full and high detail 3D cabs to Train Simulation (though by no means the first to do so). Instead of using 2D images you can now create detailed 3D cabs with fully animated controls, here's the place to learn how.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
RSderek
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4760
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: London
Contact:

08 Shunter cab

Post by RSderek »

Ok, I've finally got round to modelling it, I'm now at the mapping and texturing stage. Will keep you posted on how it goes.
Hope to have it finished in a week or 2.

Any issues with the cab let me know.




regards

Derek
To contact me email support@railsimulator.com, not here.
So long, and thanks for all the fish.
http://dereksiddle.blogspot.com/
User avatar
jamespetts
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 1:07 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by jamespetts »

That looks lovely! I don't know whether it's authentic or not because I don't know what the real one looks like. Shall look forward to seeing that in the game. Now all that we need is for the signalling, pathing, etc. to be upgraded so that we can use it for shunting :-D
James E. Petts
User avatar
peterdore
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 987
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, West Sussex, UK

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by peterdore »

Very Nice Derek.......but.............could we have a Fowler 4F P e r l e a s e :lol:

yuk Diesels :x


Pete Doré :drinking:
Remember Lock and Block
----------------------------------
User avatar
MikeTrams
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1601
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by MikeTrams »

I have a problem with it! It's too good :P :wink:

Cheers,
Mike
MeshTools.co.uk
User avatar
26014
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2002 12:00 am
Location: stoke on trent
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by 26014 »

Hi Derek

I take it this cab is going to be for a vacuum braked only class 08 with the position of the straight air brake and the type of train brake. Are you doing another cab design for dual/air braked class 08's.

Other than that the cab looks like another quality addition to the railsim fleet.

Thanks
Tony
BitFenix Shinobi USB3.0 Gaming Case, Corsair Builder Series CX 750W Modular '80 Plus Bronze' PSU, Gigabyte Z77-D3H Intel Z77, i5-3570K 3.40Ghz, Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X OC 4096MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card, Kingston Hyper X Blu 16gb Ram, 1TB HD
User avatar
RSderek
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4760
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by RSderek »

Hi Tony,

I will be doing only one cab design for the shunter. Mainly because the 08 I went to photograph (and record sound) was vacuum only. (D3462)
I may consider doing a variation in the future if I get into a cab and photograph all the deatils.

regards

Derek
To contact me email support@railsimulator.com, not here.
So long, and thanks for all the fish.
http://dereksiddle.blogspot.com/
User avatar
jamespetts
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 1:07 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by jamespetts »

Incidentally, I shall look forward to the release of the documentation on train braking systems - having to match locomotives and coaches with compatible systems, especially in 1960s/1970s UK scenarios is an interesting operational challenge...
James E. Petts
User avatar
RSderek
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4760
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by RSderek »

Hi James, that documentaion on train braking systems will be posted up soon.

regards

Derek
To contact me email support@railsimulator.com, not here.
So long, and thanks for all the fish.
http://dereksiddle.blogspot.com/
User avatar
26014
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2002 12:00 am
Location: stoke on trent
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by 26014 »

Hi Dererk

Just wondering if you are able to show us how the actual loco model is coming on, for use with this quality cab.

Tony
BitFenix Shinobi USB3.0 Gaming Case, Corsair Builder Series CX 750W Modular '80 Plus Bronze' PSU, Gigabyte Z77-D3H Intel Z77, i5-3570K 3.40Ghz, Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X OC 4096MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card, Kingston Hyper X Blu 16gb Ram, 1TB HD
User avatar
RSderek
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4760
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by RSderek »

Hi Tony, Here is the blue 08 as it is, I need to make changes for the earlier green and black version but they should be fairly quick to do.

regards

Derek





To contact me email support@railsimulator.com, not here.
So long, and thanks for all the fish.
http://dereksiddle.blogspot.com/
User avatar
BR7MT
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 3226
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:56 pm
Location: Kent

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by BR7MT »

That is looking awesome :o :D

Out of curiosity, what is the poly count at the moment?

Regards,

Dan
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried :)

My uploads
User avatar
RSderek
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4760
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by RSderek »

Thanks,
Not sure exactly but the poly count is around 10000 (or 20000 triangles) for the top lod.
regards

Derek
To contact me email support@railsimulator.com, not here.
So long, and thanks for all the fish.
http://dereksiddle.blogspot.com/
User avatar
220389
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 3524
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:28 pm
Location: Shropshire
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by 220389 »

Looking amazing their, Will suit the route im making very well.

Also keep up the good work.

Can i also ask what moderling programe are you using, since im doing an games Dev course at college and aim to do one at uni, i would like to know the programe you are using



Chris
Rising Storm -Name is in the credits :D - To Do scenario, where you go along at 50mph in a Pendo? Who would play it?
Anyone want to help in Play Testing future Rising Storm/ Ro2 Maps? If so please PM me.
User avatar
RSderek
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 4760
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by RSderek »

Hi Chris,

I mainly use 3ds max. I'vebeen using it so long it feels part of me, even with it's faults I love it.
I am planning on building a few items in blender and canvas (maybe maya, i think the industry split between max and maya is about even)
I don't have light wave so not able to try anything in that.

regards

Derek
To contact me email support@railsimulator.com, not here.
So long, and thanks for all the fish.
http://dereksiddle.blogspot.com/
User avatar
220389
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 3524
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:28 pm
Location: Shropshire
Contact:

Re: 08 Shunter cab

Post by 220389 »

Thanks for the reply, as far as i've found out most of the industry does use Maya or 3Dsmax
Rising Storm -Name is in the credits :D - To Do scenario, where you go along at 50mph in a Pendo? Who would play it?
Anyone want to help in Play Testing future Rising Storm/ Ro2 Maps? If so please PM me.
Locked

Return to “[RS] Cab View Creation”