Create a better view in Class 55

Rail Simulator brings full and high detail 3D cabs to Train Simulation (though by no means the first to do so). Instead of using 2D images you can now create detailed 3D cabs with fully animated controls, here's the place to learn how.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
JimmyKnopf
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:53 am

Create a better view in Class 55

Post by JimmyKnopf »

I found the cabview in the Class 55 annoying, because the instruments obstruct the view on the track outside. So I fiddled around with some BIN files and finally found a solution.

Here's the result:
OLD:
Image

NEW:
Image

I made two different versions of the new view, choose which you prefer:

Cabview Tweak.RAR


And this is how to do it:

First of all go to the folder

Rail Simulator\Assets\Kuju\Railsimulator\RailVehicles\Diesel\Class55\Default\Cabview\

The file you need to alter is Class 55 Cab camera.bin

First of all SAVE A COPY TO A SAVE PLACE !

Then pull Class 55 Cab camera.bin on serz.exe . You find this in Rail Simulator\Packager. If you don't have this folder, install the additional liveries from the Rail Simulator Website.

Serz.exe converts the BIN into an XML file. Open this Class 55 Cab camera.xml with notepad.

There you find 4 blocks of x, y and z values:

CameraOffset
CameraDirection
WindowCameraOffset
WindowCameraDirection

Change the CameraOffset X value from -0.8000 to -0.7000. This will adjust the left view a bit to the right.
Change the CameroOffset Y value from 3.2500 to 3.3500. This will raise the left view a bit.

Change the WindowCameraOffset X value from 0.8000 to 0.7000. This will adjust the right view a bit to the left.
Change the WindowCameraOffset Y value from 3.2500 to 3.3500. This will raise the right view a bit.

The altered XML file looks like this:



<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<cBlueprintLoader xmlns:d="http://www.kuju.com/TnT/2003/Delta" d:version="1.0">
<Blueprint>
<cCabCameraBlueprint>
<Name d:type="cDeltaString"></Name>
<RenderComponent>
<cCameraRenderBlueprint/>
</RenderComponent>
<UpdateComponent>
<cCabCameraUpdateBlueprint>
<camType d:type="sUInt32">0</camType>
<cameraOffset>
<cRVector3>
<X d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000A09999E9BF" d:precision="string">-0.7000</X>
<Y d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="0000000000000A40" d:precision="string">3.3500</Y>
<Z d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="0000006066661E40" d:precision="string">7.6000</Z>
</cRVector3>
</cameraOffset>
<cameraDirection>
<cRVector3>
<X d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="0000000000000000" d:precision="string">0.0000</X>
<Y d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="0000000000000000" d:precision="string">0.0000</Y>
<Z d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000000000F03F" d:precision="string">1.0000</Z>
</cRVector3>
</cameraDirection>
<windowCameraOffset>
<cRVector3>
<X d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000A09999E93F" d:precision="string">0.7000</X>
<Y d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="0000000000000A40" d:precision="string">3.3500</Y>
<Z d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="0000006066661E40" d:precision="string">7.6000</Z>
</cRVector3>
</windowCameraOffset>
<windowCameraDirection>
<cRVector3>
<X d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="0000000000000000" d:precision="string">0.0000</X>
<Y d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="0000000000000000" d:precision="string">0.0000</Y>
<Z d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000000000F03F" d:precision="string">1.0000</Z>
</cRVector3>
</windowCameraDirection>
<verticalDirectionalFreedom d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="0000000000000040" d:precision="string">2.0000</verticalDirectionalFreedom>
<horizontalDirectionalFreedom d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="0000000000000840" d:precision="string">3.0000</horizontalDirectionalFreedom>
</cCabCameraUpdateBlueprint>
</UpdateComponent>
<PosOriComponent>
<cPosOriBlueprint/>
</PosOriComponent>
</cCabCameraBlueprint>
</Blueprint>
</cBlueprintLoader>

Finally, save the altered XML and pull it onto serz.exe. This will result in an altered BIN file that you can save in Rail Simulator\Assets\Kuju\Railsimulator\RailVehicles\Diesel\Class55\Default\Cabview\

That's it.

Now the only thing I want to know is what the strings for each XYZ value means e.g. d:alt_encoding="0000006066661E40"
Last edited by JimmyKnopf on Thu Oct 18, 2007 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
SteelixB
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Newcastle
Contact:

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by SteelixB »

I believe that has something to do with the actual value...

A double stored as byte code like '000000A09999E9BF' represents -0.80000001 (I assume you changed this to -0.7000.. which is '666666666666E6BF')

I don't know if it is my hex editor or something, but values represented by those bytes seem to be rounded to give the inner value
('0000006066661E40' = 7.5999999 = 7.6000)


So:

[d:type represents] the variable's type (e.g. 'sFloat32' I'd assume that is a 32 bit floating point (which is odd because 64 bits represent those values...))
[d:alt_encoding] seems to be the encoded value
[d:precision] I'm not entirely sure, may describe how the value is represented in XML ("1.0000" is a string as it is represented by the characters '1', '.' and '0')
New username: RSBen
User avatar
JimmyKnopf
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:53 am

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by JimmyKnopf »

I believe that has something to do with the actual value...
I thought that too at first, but the altered view works without changing the hex values. But I'm glad it works at all !
User avatar
jbilton
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 19267
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 12:08 pm
Location: At home ..waiting to go to Work.
Contact:

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by jbilton »

Hi
That does give a better view :P .........although I think the bonnet should show.
Cheers
jon
------------------------Supporting whats good in the British community------------------------
Image
User avatar
JimmyKnopf
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:53 am

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by JimmyKnopf »

jbilton wrote:although I think the bonnet should show.
Then choose a higher Y value, perhaps 3.4500.

But be careful not to bump your head ! :lol:
SteelixB
Very Active Forum Member
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Newcastle
Contact:

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by SteelixB »

Chances are the bonnet hasn't been modelled for the cab, so you won't see it...
New username: RSBen
User avatar
JimmyKnopf
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:53 am

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by JimmyKnopf »

The Cab view is created by placing the "driver camera" inside the actual train model. When I experimented with the view settings I set the Y much too high so that I could see the train from above. With bonnet !
tofwings
Established Forum Member
Posts: 314
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Wolverhampton

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by tofwings »

Brilliant

You guys are just tooooooo clever.....

Did it ......and it works a treat....

Thanks very much,
yet another fix done by the community, my fix folder is growing....lol

Brian
JsT185
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:52 am
Location: Leeds

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by JsT185 »

Looks much better, superb work!

All you could see before was those annoying birds in the sky!
User avatar
JimmyKnopf
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:53 am

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by JimmyKnopf »

JsT185 wrote:Looks much better, superb work!

All you could see before was those annoying birds in the sky!

Thanks for the flowers ! :D

To reduce the amount of birds will be one of my next "tasks". They should have named the game "Hitchcocks Rail Simulator" ...
User avatar
JasonM
Well Established Forum Member
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sussex England
Contact:

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by JasonM »

Thanks for that Jimmy.
Yes reducing the amount of birds will be great, also we need to stop the noise of them as well, no way would you here them from the cab of a train when moving.
--
Jason
User avatar
JimmyKnopf
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:53 am

Here are the files:

Post by JimmyKnopf »

tommylommykins
Been on the forums for a while
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 6:38 pm

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by tommylommykins »

JimmyKnopf wrote:The Cab view is created by placing the "driver camera" inside the actual train model. When I experimented with the view settings I set the Y much too high so that I could see the train from above. With bonnet !
No that's not the case. Although the bonnet was obviously included in the cab model, the cab model does not contain all the parts of the loco.
User avatar
JimmyKnopf
Getting the hang of things now
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:53 am

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by JimmyKnopf »

tommylommykins wrote:
JimmyKnopf wrote:The Cab view is created by placing the "driver camera" inside the actual train model. When I experimented with the view settings I set the Y much too high so that I could see the train from above. With bonnet !
No that's not the case. Although the bonnet was obviously included in the cab model, the cab model does not contain all the parts of the loco.
Yep, you're right ! Must have had some halluzinations... :roll:

I tried again with an altered bin and looked down. I saw only the cab, without the rest of the loco. No bonnet, just the coupler was visible. The piece of the loco behind the cab had disappeared. Only the waggons were visible in the distance.
NeutronIC
Atomic Systems Team
Atomic Systems Team
Posts: 11075
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2001 12:00 am
Location: E11, London, England
Contact:

Re: Create a better view in Class 55

Post by NeutronIC »

I've uploaded a version of Jimmy's fix to the site now for those that don't want to do the change themselves :)

Thanks to Jimmy for permission.

Matt.
Locked

Return to “[RS] Cab View Creation”