Scenario Start Points.

Trains and Routes only entertain so far, what you need are engaging and entertaining scenarios. Here's where you can learn how to make bigger, better scenarios and really bring your virtual train world alive.

Moderator: Moderators

Scenario Start Points.

Postby jp92214 on Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:19 am

When I create a scenario I like the scenario marker to be at the place where the P train starts from. This is easy with routes supplied by DTG, JT etc, as they have multiple points to choose from.

I have come across a couple of fictional Workshop routes that to me are very good and lend themselves to some creative scenario creation (Ragland Railway, Border Lines) but they only have one start point, the "Route Origin".

Is it possible to put other start points on these routes and if so, could someone please explain how it is done.

Any help appreciated.

JP.
jp92214
Been on the forums for a while
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:19 pm
Location: Batley, West Yorks.

Re: Scenario Start Points.

Postby gptech on Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:13 pm

You can define locations by their latitude and longtitude in a .dcsv file, than call for that file with a .bin file. these normally live in the route's 'Asset' folder, in a subfolder named 'RouteMarkers'
If you have a browse through other routes you have I'm sure you'll find one that features such a listing. You can use an existing pair of files to copy and edit to suit whichever route you want to work on, so do you have RW Tools to edit the .bin?...the .dcsv files are editable in any text editor, so Notepad is good enough.

Flying round a route to gather all the lat and long values is the longest job, but once you have a list it's pretty simple text editing---as an example this is the first part of the file that defines locations in the Freeware South West Wales route...

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<cCSVArray xmlns:d="http://www.kuju.com/TnT/2003/Delta" d:version="1.0" d:id="1239932">
   <CSVItem>
      <cCSVItem d:id="2">
         <X d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000A07B16DDBF" d:precision="string">0.23947</X>
         <Y d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000407BB84940" d:precision="string">51.20486</Y>
         <Name d:type="cDeltaString">Swansea</Name>
      </cCSVItem>
      <cCSVItem d:id="3">
         <X d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000C0CE78E8BF" d:precision="string">-0.48193</X>
         <Y d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000C051904940" d:precision="string">51.57639</Y>
         <Name d:type="cDeltaString">Whitland</Name>
      </cCSVItem>
      <cCSVItem d:id="4">
         <X d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000005879DCBF" d:precision="string">-0.18658</X>
         <Y d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000407BB94940" d:precision="string">51.51702</Y>
         <Name d:type="cDeltaString">Carmarthen</Name>
      </cCSVItem>
      <cCSVItem d:id="5">
         <X d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000E06A1EF3BF" d:precision="string">0.183042</X>
         <Y d:type="sFloat32" d:alt_encoding="000000A0565D4940" d:precision="string">51.052079</Y>
         <Name d:type="cDeltaString">Margam</Name>
      </cCSVItem>


just a long list of lat and long values and a place name.
gptech
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 12495
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Scenario Start Points.

Postby jp92214 on Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:23 pm

Hi Gary.
Thanks for the reply. Don't have RW Tools but do have RW Textedit. I'll have a play around and see what sort of a mess I can make of it.

JP.
jp92214
Been on the forums for a while
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:19 pm
Location: Batley, West Yorks.

Re: Scenario Start Points.

Postby Rockdoc2174 on Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:11 am

There is another, slightly more roundabout way of doing this. Go into an existing scenario in the Editor and navigate to the spot where you want the new scenario to begin. Then go to the menu for scenario markers and select the type you want and place it. You'll be asked if you want to save the existing scenario. Agree and you'll be taken to your empty scenario. Add the title and other details to the marker and you're good to go.

Keith
Rockdoc2174
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:15 pm
Location: Derby, UK


Return to [TS13-TS17] Scenario Creation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest