Changing points/signals

General discussion about RailWorks, your thoughts, questions, news and views!

Moderator: Moderators

Changing points/signals

Postby Daniel1983 on Sun Oct 17, 2010 3:22 am

Im having little trouble in changing over points, when I press G it should be changing the signals to green for the route, it doesnt, what am i doing anything wrong? direction of travel not behind the train.
Daniel1983
Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 8:31 am
Location: Colchester

Re: Changing points/signals

Postby transadelaide on Sun Oct 17, 2010 4:16 am

Daniel1983 wrote:Im having little trouble in changing over points, when I press G it should be changing the signals to green for the route, it doesnt, what am i doing anything wrong? direction of travel not behind the train.

Have you checked to see what is going on further down the path to check another set of points is not causing the blocked path? You can also change points in the 2D map by shift-clicking on the blue dot, or in regular 3D view by clicking on the switch stand.
Image
transadelaide
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 2659
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:30 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: Changing points/signals

Postby AndiS on Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:25 am

When you press G, you only change the next switch.

A signal shows green when all the switches "under its control" are set for you and the next block is clear.

As suggested above, in RW, you are well advised to press 9 to bring up the map view and check out the blue line. In most stations, there is more than one switch between your train and the open route. The option to press G is more a heritage from MSTS, but only changing the next switch does not get you far in almost any case.
User avatar
AndiS
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 5367
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Jester's cell in ivory tower

Re: Changing points/signals

Postby Daniel1983 on Sun Oct 17, 2010 5:27 pm

Thanks, im getting the hang of it now, on a different subject, what is the formation of the 390 please?
Daniel1983
Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 8:31 am
Location: Colchester

Re: Changing points/signals

Postby msey0002 on Sun Oct 17, 2010 5:29 pm

it's on the manual
regards,
Mark
msey0002
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 4495
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:34 pm
Location: Maltese fella lost in Brussels

Re: Changing points/signals

Postby FoggyMorning on Sun Oct 17, 2010 5:33 pm

In theory, the first class coaches should be at the London end of the train and the carriages should be placed in alphabetical order

Back to front

K: DMRFO
J: MFOD
H: PTFO
G: MFO
E: TSO
D: MSO
C: PTSRMB
B: MSO
A: DMSO

See also http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Rail_Class_390
Steve
User avatar
FoggyMorning
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 5111
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 1:16 am
Location: Somewhere Else

Re: Changing points/signals

Postby Daniel1983 on Sun Oct 17, 2010 6:20 pm

thanks
Daniel1983
Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 8:31 am
Location: Colchester

Re: Changing points/signals

Postby Daniel1983 on Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:48 am

On the map, I clicked on the blue spot to change points, but when i click on it, it doesnt change it. how you do it on the map? please.
Daniel1983
Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 8:31 am
Location: Colchester

Re: Changing points/signals

Postby bdy26 on Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:56 am

shift + click

B
User avatar
bdy26
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 8:34 pm
Location: Manchester, rain.

Re: Changing points/signals

Postby Daniel1983 on Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:32 pm

Thanks
Daniel1983
Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 8:31 am
Location: Colchester


Return to [RW] General RW Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests