Can't activate on Steam!!!

Steam is new to RailWorks so if you have any issues making it function or questions about how it works before you start then this is the place to get your answers.

Moderator: Moderators

Can't activate on Steam!!!

Postby Paul_Boland on Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:26 pm

Right, my blood pressure and rage are flying into orbit! For over an hour now I have been trying to active Rail Works over Steam and it's not working. I have the DVD version. I get as far as entering the product key, which I do. I then click Next and Steam says "Activating key with Steam". About a minute later Steams says "Steam server is unavilable. Your computer is currently unable to reach the Steam servers or the service may be temporarily disabled. Please try again later."

I have clicked the help link on Steam and followed the suggestions there such as disabling both my anti-virus software and firewall, actions I wasn't mad about taking, but still no joy. I hate Steam big time and now my hatred is justified!!

Anyone got any ideas to help me out please!?!
KnightTrek Productions
http://www.iol.ie/~pkb
User avatar
Paul_Boland
Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:22 pm
Location: Waterford, Ireland.

Re: Can't activate on Steam!!!

Postby emrhd01 on Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:00 pm

Hi Paul,

You do seem to be having problems, have you seen this:

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_art ... -YUFN-0521

Don't know whether it will help, but I just thought I'd try and help. :-?
Rob.
Better to have tried and failed, than never to have tried at all.
Image
User avatar
emrhd01
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 4449
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:48 pm
Location: Nottingham- East Bridgford

Re: Can't activate on Steam!!!

Postby Paul_Boland on Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:30 pm

Thanks, Rob. Just tried installing now and bingo!! Steam has accepted the product key number and Rail Works in now installing. Thanks for the help though, much appreciated.
User avatar
Paul_Boland
Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:22 pm
Location: Waterford, Ireland.

Re: Can't activate on Steam!!!

Postby emrhd01 on Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:37 pm

Hi Paul,

I'm glad I could help out, didn't want you getting any more 'worked up' :lol:

As I'm sure you are aware there will be an 'update' that requires downloading from Steam if you want the latest RW updates :wink:

I'll 'stand back a bit' now and wait to see what you have to say when you've had a run with RW.

I'm hoping you might find something positive.
User avatar
emrhd01
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 4449
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:48 pm
Location: Nottingham- East Bridgford

Re: Can't activate on Steam!!!

Postby Shonner on Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:30 pm

Paul_Boland wrote:Right, my blood pressure and rage are flying into orbit! For over an hour now I have been trying to active Rail Works over Steam and it's not working. I have the DVD version. I get as far as entering the product key, which I do. I then click Next and Steam says "Activating key with Steam". About a minute later Steams says "Steam server is unavilable. Your computer is currently unable to reach the Steam servers or the service may be temporarily disabled. Please try again later."

I have clicked the help link on Steam and followed the suggestions there such as disabling both my anti-virus software and firewall, actions I wasn't mad about taking, but still no joy. I hate Steam big time and now my hatred is justified!!

Anyone got any ideas to help me out please!?!


Everytime I get that error it means I have to wait for the Steam client to update itself with a new patch first before I can enter a serial number for a DVD game.
Shonner
Shonner
New to the Forums
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:12 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Can't activate on Steam!!!

Postby ightenhill on Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:22 pm

Check your steam client has got a UK server or an east coast USA highlighted.. It sometimes defaults to some lost island in the pacific..
Image

i7 950 on Asus P6T overclocked to 4.00ghz with arctic cooling
Gainward GTX 470 Crucial Ballistix 8gb DDR3 RAM Win7(64bit) Steam name Ighten
User avatar
ightenhill
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm
Location: London or converting a barn in Lancashire

Re: Can't activate on Steam!!!

Postby Paul_Boland on Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:45 pm

Thanks for the extra info but I have Rail Works installed. Thanks.
User avatar
Paul_Boland
Established Forum Member
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:22 pm
Location: Waterford, Ireland.

Re: Can't activate on Steam!!!

Postby CaptScarlet on Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:35 pm

For future reference I have read that if the download speed in the UK seems slow ( especially on the weekend I understand ) changing the region to say Switzerland may speed things up somewhat.

John
CaptScarlet
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 3673
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 11:29 am
Location: The Netherlands


Return to [RW] Steam Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests