Are Cabs separate models from the main loco?

It's what the driver sees, it's possibly more important than even how it looks on the outside - but it's the most difficult bit to build. Learn how to make your own cabs, or how to use the ones that have been produced, how to wire up the controls and much more!

Moderator: Moderators

Are Cabs separate models from the main loco?

Postby MallardFan on Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:17 pm

Hi,

I was wondering, are the cabs built as a separate model from the main locomotive? if you press 8 whilst in the cab it changes to a very basic "cab" with no controls?

Many Thanks
Image Image
Class 205 Thumper and Class 73 Electro-Diesel currently in the Engine Shed!
User avatar
MallardFan
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 1336
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:45 am

Re: Are Cabs separate models from the main loco?

Postby oar85 on Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:48 pm

Yes, the cab is normaly a separate model from the locomotive. If it where not a separate model the simulator had to load the cab all the time, even when you look on the train from the outside. This can cause reduced framerates, especially when there is many AI trains. Also when it comes to limitations in the 3d model, it is best to have two separate models to allow more animations and details.
Cheers,
Oystein
Norwegian 3D Trains & Landscape - http://www.3dtog.com
oar85
Getting the hang of things now
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:10 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Are Cabs separate models from the main loco?

Postby MallardFan on Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:57 pm

Ahh that makes sense

Thanks
User avatar
MallardFan
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 1336
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:45 am

Re: Are Cabs separate models from the main loco?

Postby Kariban on Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:16 pm

You need the cab view to have the entire outer body shell now ( although I don't think it all needs to be fully detailed ) so you don't get half a shadow from the cabview.
My posts are my opinion, and should be read as such.
Kariban
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 4478
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Are Cabs separate models from the main loco?

Postby MallardFan on Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:36 pm

Kariban wrote:You need the cab view to have the entire outer body shell now ( although I don't think it all needs to be fully detailed ) so you don't get half a shadow from the cabview.


Ahh Thanks for that info - that should be pretty easy to implement

thanks
User avatar
MallardFan
Very Active Forum Member
 
Posts: 1336
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:45 am


Return to [RW] Cab View Creation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests